What is Aggravated Assault In Tennessee?
Aggravated assault in Tennessee is defined as knowingly, intentionally, or reckless causing “serious” physical harm to another individual, attempts to cause physical injury by strangulation, or intentionally causing physical injury to a public employee or transit system working while the person is performing his or her duties. If a parent or guardian of a child fails to protect the child or adult from aggravated assault or child abuse, then they can be charged with aggravated assault. If a deadly weapon is used while committing simple assault, then it is considered aggravated assault.
What Does It Mean To Cause Injury Through Recklessness In TN?
Whenever someone causes injury to another without intending to do so, but through actions that are considered to be seriously negligent or without concern for how those actions may harm another individual, this is considered recklessness and can lead to an aggravated assault charge. For example, someone who negligently handles a firearm and shoots someone on accident.
How Does Tennessee Law Define Serious Bodily Injury?
Serious bodily injury is more than a minor injury like a cut, scrape, or bruise. It involves significant harm such as a broken bone, disfigurement, loss of a limb, or an injury requiring surgery or hospitalization.
What Qualifies As A Deadly Weapon In An Aggravated Assault Case In Tennessee?
A deadly weapon is an object that by definition is capable of or designed to cause death or serious bodily injury such as a knife or a gun. An object that is not normally a weapon, but one that is used in an assault in a way likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, also can be considered a deadly weapon. For instance, a baseball bat, pool stick, crowbar, or rock used to strike or attempt to strike someone are all dangerous weapons because of the manner in which they were used.
What Are The Consequences Of Conviction In An Aggravated Assault Case?
Aggravated assault is an intentional or reckless assault which results in serious bodily injury to another, results in the death of another, involved a deadly weapon, or involved strangulation or attempted strangulation. If a person commits an aggravated assault, then they could be charged with a Class C or Class D felony, depending on whether the act was intentional or reckless.
A Class C Felony carries three to fifteen years and up to $10,000 in fines. A Class D Felony is punishable by imprisonment for two to twelve years and up to $5,000 fine.
For more information on Aggravated Assault Charges In Tennessee, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (615) 864-6527 today.
Call For A Free Consultation